Πριν από λίγες μέρες ένας πολύ καλός φίλος, γνωρίζοντας την ενασχόλησή μου με την εξυπηρέτηση πελατών και τη διαχείριση παραπόνων, με προέτρεψε να δω τις απαντήσεις που δίνει ένας ξενοδόχος από την Σκιάθο (Kanapitsa Mare Hotel, για όσους θέλουν να το ψάξουν λίγο περισσότερο) στις αρνητικές κριτικές που αναρτώνται στο TripAdvisor.
Παραθέτω αυτούσια την κριτική (ο επισκέπτης έδωσε 2/5 αστέρια) αλλά και την απάντηση του ξενοδόχου, προκειμένου να την αξιολογήσουμε.
Complacency does not bring success (Ο εφησυχασμός δεν φέρνει την επιτυχία)
This was our fourth stay at this lovely little hotel. The area is beautiful and well situated for getting into town by either water taxi or car. Unfortunately the breakfast which has always been very basic has got worse. The waitress on several days cleared the buffet at 10.10- and 10.15am leaving only tea and coffee, although it advertises breakfast until 10.30. The pool area was not cleaned from the previous day on a couple of occasions and was littered with newspapers, empty sun cream bottles and in fact glasses and crockery from the previous day. We also had to ask reception on two occasions to replenish the toilet rolls in our room after the maid had cleaned it. Also on one occasion the poolside toilets had no toilet paper in them, and I complained to the bar manager.

Dear guests
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and also for coming back for the 4th time. On behalf of the management I apologize seeing that obviously you did not find anything good during your stay with us this 4th time; exactly though since you are a repeat customer, I need to ask why you did not ask to see the hotel manager and let him know that you were not happy, given that he comes by the breakfast area almost each day.
Now, regarding the breakfast i am sorry that you considered it "getting worse" but I am not sure what exactly you expect; the hotel is 3 star not 5 star; each year we go above and beyond to enrich our offered food articles and that is primarily done based on the suggestions of our guests. That makes me wonder since you are a repeat customer (more than welcome) why would you avoid discussing your concerns with the manager and offer your suggestions. Regarding the closing time of the breakfast, I am sorry but your note is inaccurate. Breakfast serving never closes before 10.30-if that was the issue you could have informed the reception and it would have been dealt with on the spot (especially if this happened as you noted more than once).
In regards to the pool; the area is cleaned and checked daily many times - if you visited the pool area at an early time (before the pool bar opening) and the area was not satisfactory we apologize and have informed the pool area department (it helps us much more though if you let us know while you are here in order to deal with your concerns and make your stay enjoyable).
In closing, Sir as I mentioned earlier, I would expect from a repeat guest if they have any issues that concern them, to meet / discuss with the manager during their stay in order make their stay enjoyable. Do not forget that we urge guests to discuss their thoughts with us during their stay so based on their needs each year we can improve our services-many guests do so, you Sir preferred to go online and talk about "complacency"...

Thank you for your choice.

Δεν ξέρω ποια είναι η γνώμη σας για την απάντηση του ξενοδόχου, όμως εμένα δεν με συγκίνησε ιδιαίτερα. Η απάντησή του είναι η απάντηση ενός ανθρώπου που δεν δέχεται την κριτική, όποια και αν είναι αυτή.
Ας ξεκινήσουμε όμως από τα θετικά. Ο εν λόγω ξενοδόχος, προς τιμήν του, απαντάει σε όλες τις κριτικές, αρνητικές και θετικές. Για τις αρνητικές κριτικές ορθώς εκφράζει την απογοήτευσή του για την μη ικανοποίηση των προσδοκιών των επισκεπτών, καθώς και την ευχαρίστησή του για την ανατροφοδότηση που του προσφέρουν. Στα συν και η εξατομικευμένη προσέγγιση που υιοθετεί για κάθε αρνητική κριτική (απαντάει στα ζητήματα που έχει αναφέρει ο κάθε πελάτης).

Παρ' όλα αυτά, η απάντησή του μετά βίας πιάνει τη βάση.
Δεν είναι μόνο ότι δεν χρησιμοποιεί το όνομα του επισκέπτη (χρησιμοποιεί το απρόσωπο "dear sir"), ούτε ότι κλείνει χωρίς να αποκαλύψει το όνομά του ή τα στοιχεία του. Από την αρχή δείχνει να χλευάζει τον γράφοντα και να αμφισβητεί τα πάντα. 
Αναμφίβολα, το κερασάκι στην τούρτα είναι ότι "μαλώνει" τον επισκέπτη επειδή δεν παραπονέθηκε στον ίδιο - κάτι το οποίο διαφαίνεται και από την μελέτη άλλων απαντήσεων που έδωσε. Δεν γνωρίζει ότι, για πολλούς και διάφορους λόγους, ένα συντριπτικό ποσοστό των δυσαρεστημένων πελατών δεν επιλέγει να παραπονεθεί. Συν τοις άλλοις πολλά παράπονα δεν φθάνουν στην κορυφή, κοινώς οι υπάλληλοι τα "πνίγουν".

Ο Bill Gates είχε πει ότι "οι δυσαρεστημένοι πελάτες είναι η σημαντικότερη πηγή μάθησης". Αντίθετα, για τον εν λόγω ξενοδόχο, ο "πελάτης δεν έχει ποτέ δίκιο". Ισως γι' αυτό το 20% των επισκεπτών του, σύμφωνα με το TripAdvisor, χαρακτηρίζει το ξενοδοχείο του ως "ανεπαρκές ή απαράδεκτο". Ισως γι' αυτό η βαθμολογία του στο Booking δεν ξεπερνάει το 6,5/10. Ο ίδιος επιλέγει συνειδητά να στρουθοκαμηλίζει και να θεωρεί "εχθρούς" όσους δημοσιοποιούν την αρνητική τους προδιάθεση.